
FAMILY DAY CARE HOME OCCUPATION LICENSE 

Per DMMC 18.01.050, “family day-care provider” means a licensed day-care provider who regularly provides day-care 
for not more than 12 children in the provider’s homer in the family living quarters. 

A family day-care provider home facility is a permitted use in residential zones, subject to the following conditions per 
DMMC 18.52.010A -Footnote 41:

− The family day-care provider is currently licensed by the State of Washington Department of 
   Social and Health Services and adheres to all licensing standards. 
− The family day-care provider must obtain a business license under DMMC 5.04. 
− Family day-care services are provided in a residential dwelling exclusively in the family living 
   quarters. 
− The structure in which family day-care services are provided complies with all building, fire, 
   safety, and health codes. 
− Signs identifying the residence as a family day-care provider are prohibited. 
− The Washington state Department of Social and health Services certifies that there are adequate 
   child drop-off and pick-up areas. 
− Hours of operation are limited to 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. 
− Prior to licensing, the City provides written notification to immediately adjoining property

owners of the provider of the intent to locate and maintain the facility in order to provide the 
Washington State Department of Social and Health Services an opportunity to provide a forum 
to resolve any dispute. 

Administrative Guidelines Applied to License Review: 

1. In order to minimize the impacts of parked vehicles, home occupations which involve clients, customers
or employees coming to the home shall have sufficient parking on site and/or on the street immediately in
front of the site. In determining the availability of parking space, the City will consider the number of
vehicles existing on the site during the hours of business operation in addition to those coming to the site.
Also considered will be the suitability of the site and/or street to safely accommodate parked vehicles.

2. In order to minimize traffic impacts, home occupations shall generally have no more than eight (8)
clients, customers, employee, noncommercial deliveries, or combination thereof, coming to the site each
day.

3. In order to minimize the intrusion of commercial vehicles into residential neighborhoods, home
occupations shall have no more than one delivery per week by commercial vehicles.

Helpful Information for Completing Your License Packet: 

Contact the Washington State Department of Social and Health Services, office of Child Care Policy at 253-372- 
6067. The City will not issue your license until you can produce a copy of the State license. 

Your parcel ID number is located on your property tax statement. 

Business licenses expire December 31st of the year issued. Failure to renew your license by February 15th of the 
following year results in a 100% late penalty. We will send a renewal notice to your mailing address by December 
15th. If you have not received it by January 1st, please contact taxandlicense@desmoineswa.gov to confirm your mailing 
address. 

B & O TAX: For businesses with gross receipts greater than $50,000, the tax rate is equal to two-tenths of one percent (.2%) of their 
gross receipts. Businesses with gross receipts equal to or less than $50,000 per year are not required to pay the tax, although it is still 
necessary for the business to file a return 

Please print the following application form, complete the required information and mail, or bring in to the City 
Clerk’ office with the appropriate fee. REMEMBER, an incomplete application will delay the processing 
of your license. Be sure to carefully review your application prior to submittal.
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